Ultimate Amiga

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: FS-UAE Service Host  (Read 3803 times)

Hungry Horace

  • Amorphous Blue-Blob Man
  • Site Admin
  • A4000T
  • ******
  • Karma: 306
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,336
  • Don't forget... Ameboid's need love too!
    • Amiga Online
FS-UAE Service Host
« on: November 20, 2012, 10:37:41 AM »

Hi Guys,

I was just wondering, because i know *nothing* about network connections....

Now that FS-UAE supports "super-servers" for online play... i.e. a game-server which server up to 30-games (like the old winuae-kailera servers)

- Is it possible for us to have one permanently running via this site?
- Can it be redirected from amigaonline.co.uk, or games.amigaonline.co.uk ? thus meaning we dont need to remember an IP address?


You need only run a small python script to run one of these servers.

Details of running a super-server from the FS-UAE launcher are here:
http://fengestad.no/fs-uae/launcher-net-play

but Frode himself has told me how the Python script used to create the super-servers is in the FS-UAE source download.

Its the file: server/fs_uae_netplay_server/service.py

You can also make it specifically shout different server addresses if required:

Quote
for example python -m fs_uae_netplay_server.service --addresses=10.0.0.10,192.168.1.10

This gives a global and local IP address shouted (although in our case, we wont need the latter)


I am going to set up a test server on my MacMini at some point, but i cannot leave it online 24/7 ... i am hoping FOL maybe can for us though ;)
Logged
Quote from: KillerGorilla
because winuae is made of code and your amiga is made of stuff

Hungry Horace's Artwork Available
Buy my work

http://twitter.com/horaceandspider

FOL

  • PSPUAE Dev Team
  • Site Admin
  • A4000T
  • ******
  • Karma: 690
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,539
  • Amigakit.com Technical
    • PSPUAE
Re: FS-UAE Service Host
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2012, 10:16:55 AM »

Hi Guys,

I was just wondering, because i know *nothing* about network connections....

Now that FS-UAE supports "super-servers" for online play... i.e. a game-server which server up to 30-games (like the old winuae-kailera servers)

- Is it possible for us to have one permanently running via this site?
- Can it be redirected from amigaonline.co.uk, or games.amigaonline.co.uk ? thus meaning we dont need to remember an IP address?


You need only run a small python script to run one of these servers.

Details of running a super-server from the FS-UAE launcher are here:
http://fengestad.no/fs-uae/launcher-net-play

but Frode himself has told me how the Python script used to create the super-servers is in the FS-UAE source download.

Its the file: server/fs_uae_netplay_server/service.py

You can also make it specifically shout different server addresses if required:

Quote
for example python -m fs_uae_netplay_server.service --addresses=10.0.0.10,192.168.1.10

This gives a global and local IP address shouted (although in our case, we wont need the latter)


I am going to set up a test server on my MacMini at some point, but i cannot leave it online 24/7 ... i am hoping FOL maybe can for us though ;)

Give me a permanent IP and I can use url to redirect to it.
It will work as if you remember when I setup FSUAE server on my home server, I was using a URL to access it.
Have'nt tried it in a while. Will hve to reset it up and try it.
Logged
Quote
Resolute and Industrious
Grand ruler of the yellow people and the Ultimate Amiga Empire

Hungry Horace

  • Amorphous Blue-Blob Man
  • Site Admin
  • A4000T
  • ******
  • Karma: 306
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,336
  • Don't forget... Ameboid's need love too!
    • Amiga Online
Re: FS-UAE Service Host
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2012, 12:40:24 PM »

Quote
Give me a permanent IP and I can use url to redirect to it.

i was hoping you (or amigakit!) might be able to offer this, as my IPs are not static, neither is my machine on 24/7!

Anyone else able to run a permanent FS-UAE server? It is only a small python script!
Logged
Quote from: KillerGorilla
because winuae is made of code and your amiga is made of stuff

Hungry Horace's Artwork Available
Buy my work

http://twitter.com/horaceandspider

FOL

  • PSPUAE Dev Team
  • Site Admin
  • A4000T
  • ******
  • Karma: 690
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,539
  • Amigakit.com Technical
    • PSPUAE
Re: FS-UAE Service Host
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2012, 10:32:26 PM »

Quote
Give me a permanent IP and I can use url to redirect to it.

i was hoping you (or amigakit!) might be able to offer this, as my IPs are not static, neither is my machine on 24/7!

Anyone else able to run a permanent FS-UAE server? It is only a small python script!

You could run no-ip.org, this will keep your ip up to date. So we can point domain straight to no-ip domain. Thats all I would do.
Logged
Quote
Resolute and Industrious
Grand ruler of the yellow people and the Ultimate Amiga Empire

Hungry Horace

  • Amorphous Blue-Blob Man
  • Site Admin
  • A4000T
  • ******
  • Karma: 306
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,336
  • Don't forget... Ameboid's need love too!
    • Amiga Online
Re: FS-UAE Service Host
« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2012, 09:06:14 PM »

well i managed to get it to work with: amigaonline.no-ip.org to my macmini :)

only tried via my laptop though... would be nice to know if others can get on it!

unfortunately, as i said before, i have to switch the computer off a lot of the time!! (i must see if i can get the script to run whenever i boot OSX though!)

Logged
Quote from: KillerGorilla
because winuae is made of code and your amiga is made of stuff

Hungry Horace's Artwork Available
Buy my work

http://twitter.com/horaceandspider

Hungry Horace

  • Amorphous Blue-Blob Man
  • Site Admin
  • A4000T
  • ******
  • Karma: 306
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,336
  • Don't forget... Ameboid's need love too!
    • Amiga Online
Re: FS-UAE Service Host
« Reply #5 on: November 28, 2012, 09:41:55 PM »

managed to create a small script (thanks Frode!) which will run everytime i boot up my MacMini.... this will start up an FS-UAE Super Game-Server.


Combined with the no-ip program running in the background on startup, i think this should mean that anyone can use the following command from the FS-UAE Launcher Online function:

/startgame amigaonline.no-ip.org

to start a game server when my computer is on!!

My guide to using this with FS-UAE Launcher:

Step 1: Load a game via Amiga Online Config files

Step 2:  Enable FS-UAE Launchers's NetPlay Feature under 'Options: Experimental Features: Enable Experimental Netplay GUI

Step 3:  (if required) Restart the FS-UAE Launcher

Step 4: Click the Blue Netplay tab

Step 5: Start a Game Channel with  /join &GameName

Step 6: In that Channel, start a server via one of these command: 
/startgame amigaonline.no-ip.org
/startgame fengestad.no


Step 7: Agree Controls with your counterpart!

Step 8: Start you are ready with commands  /ready or if not... /notready

Step 9: Click 'Start' as usual to being the game, once everyone is ready!
« Last Edit: November 29, 2012, 06:03:15 PM by Hungry Horace »
Logged
Quote from: KillerGorilla
because winuae is made of code and your amiga is made of stuff

Hungry Horace's Artwork Available
Buy my work

http://twitter.com/horaceandspider

FOL

  • PSPUAE Dev Team
  • Site Admin
  • A4000T
  • ******
  • Karma: 690
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,539
  • Amigakit.com Technical
    • PSPUAE
Re: FS-UAE Service Host
« Reply #6 on: November 29, 2012, 04:27:19 PM »

managed to create a small script (thanks Frode!) which will run everytime i boot up my MacMini.... this will start up an FS-UAE Super Game-Server.


Combined with the no-ip program running in the background on startup, i think this should mean that anyone can use the following command from the FS-UAE Launcher Online function:

/startgame amigaonline.no-ip.org

to start a game server when my computer is on!!

My guide to using this with FS-UAE Launcher:

Step 1: Load a game via Amiga Online Config files

Step 2:  Enable FS-UAE Launchers's NetPlay Feature under 'Options: Experimental Features: Enable Experimental Netplay GUI

Step 3:  (if required) Restart the FS-UAE Launcher

Step 4: Click the Blue Netplay tab

Step 5: Start a Game Channel with  /join &GameName

Step 6: In that Channel, start a server via one of these command: 
/startgame amigaonline.no-ip.org
/startgame fengstad.no


Step 7: Agree Controls with your counterpart!

Step 8: Start you are ready with commands  /ready or if not... /notready

Step 9: Click 'Start' as usual to being the game, once everyone is ready!

When I get time, will have to try it again with my server. My isp just upgraded me to 3MB Upload and 60MB Download.
Hopefully this will resolve my stuttering issue I had when playing with FS (thrashed him at Lotus 2, ;)).
Logged
Quote
Resolute and Industrious
Grand ruler of the yellow people and the Ultimate Amiga Empire

FrodeSolheim

  • fs-uae Dev
  • A600
  • *****
  • Karma: 8
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 64
    • FS-UAE Homepage
Re: FS-UAE Service Host
« Reply #7 on: November 29, 2012, 04:32:47 PM »

Much more important than raw bandwidth: low latency! So avoid wireless networks if you can, due to packet loss being much higher than with wired connections :)

(Did I really lose? :o)

Btw. fengestad.no, not fengstad.no!
Logged

Hungry Horace

  • Amorphous Blue-Blob Man
  • Site Admin
  • A4000T
  • ******
  • Karma: 306
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,336
  • Don't forget... Ameboid's need love too!
    • Amiga Online
Re: FS-UAE Service Host
« Reply #8 on: November 29, 2012, 06:04:37 PM »

Btw. fengestad.no, not fengstad.no!

Fixed!
Logged
Quote from: KillerGorilla
because winuae is made of code and your amiga is made of stuff

Hungry Horace's Artwork Available
Buy my work

http://twitter.com/horaceandspider

FOL

  • PSPUAE Dev Team
  • Site Admin
  • A4000T
  • ******
  • Karma: 690
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,539
  • Amigakit.com Technical
    • PSPUAE
Re: FS-UAE Service Host
« Reply #9 on: November 29, 2012, 07:31:49 PM »

(Did I really lose? :o)

Indeed you did, ;). You even said I was awesome, cause I didnt crash once, lol.
Logged
Quote
Resolute and Industrious
Grand ruler of the yellow people and the Ultimate Amiga Empire

FOL

  • PSPUAE Dev Team
  • Site Admin
  • A4000T
  • ******
  • Karma: 690
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,539
  • Amigakit.com Technical
    • PSPUAE
Re: FS-UAE Service Host
« Reply #10 on: December 01, 2012, 09:23:06 PM »

well i managed to get it to work with: amigaonline.no-ip.org to my macmini :)

only tried via my laptop though... would be nice to know if others can get on it!

unfortunately, as i said before, i have to switch the computer off a lot of the time!! (i must see if i can get the script to run whenever i boot OSX though!)

Hope this makes sence, as I have had a few to drink. Feels good to let my hair down in such a long time. Knew it was'nt a good idea to drink and setup Christmas tree, ;).

I have my daughters old Allwinner A10 Tablet (broken screen, she only had it a week, :( ).
Im going to flash it with linux ubuntu then set that up as a gaming server. Its a 1.2GHz Dual Core with 400MHz Quad Core GPU.
Me thinks is it wise doing this under the influence of drink, lol. Well the A10 SoC is unbrickable, so should be fun.
Logged
Quote
Resolute and Industrious
Grand ruler of the yellow people and the Ultimate Amiga Empire
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  • Ultimate Amiga >
  • Forum >
  • Ultimate Amiga Emulation >
  • Amiga Online >
  • Playing Online >
  • FS-UAE Service Host
 

TinyPortal 1.6.4 © 2005-2019