Ultimate Amiga

Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Cannot get PSP-UAE to run on my newly downgraded PSP!  (Read 13276 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Weaver1497

  • A600
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Cannot get PSP-UAE to run on my newly downgraded PSP!
« on: July 14, 2006, 05:44:51 PM »

I will make this a lenghty post to answer any questions  that might be fired back at me.

1.) I ran the initial release of PSPUAE on my original 1.5fw psp about a year ago before I upgraded to 2.0. Worked fine just a little slow

2.) With the new release by RIC and the release of devhook emualtion of firmware abillities (Has nothing to do with PSPUAE) I finally decided to downgrade back to 1.5fw

3.) I DO EXACTLY! What the readme in the 0.51 build tells me. I copy over the PSP folder into my route dir.

4.) I have also "Gotten ahold of" 3 different kickstart 1.3 roms which I have all tried individually and named kick13.rom in the __SCE__PSPUAE directory with the eboot.

5.) I then create a DISKS folder. (I have also tried not creating this folder) Exit out of USB mode and load the program through the PSP game menu.

6.) I see the image, I hear the music of the Icon from the game menu I press X, it loads some activity from the memory stick. Then boots my right back out to the psp menu.

What am I doing wrong? I really dont remember having this much of a problem loading this emu intially a year ago... Please any help/advice would be amazing. As I desperately would like to play some sierra adventure games!
Logged

Feark

  • A600
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22
  • HE JUST LEFT....WITH NUTS
Re: Cannot get PSP-UAE to run on my newly downgraded PSP!
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2006, 06:03:06 PM »

<deleted>
« Last Edit: July 14, 2006, 08:45:11 PM by Feark »
Logged

FOL

  • PSPUAE Dev Team
  • Site Admin
  • A4000T
  • ******
  • Karma: 690
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 3,547
  • Amigakit.com Technical
    • PSPUAE
Re: Cannot get PSP-UAE to run on my newly downgraded PSP!
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2006, 06:44:28 PM »

Cant see anything wrong you are doing, so maybe it is the kickstart that isnt the best one you are using.
PM me if you want some *********  ;) I got them all! erg..I mean. ..  :-X


Hmmmmmm, please reframe from offering Kickstarts on this site. PLEASE READ THE RULES...

Also I believe you are correct, he must have duff kickstarts, have you tried using them with the older release 0.41? If will only crash back to the menu if the kickstart is duff or missing.
« Last Edit: July 14, 2006, 06:47:03 PM by FOL »
Logged
Quote
Resolute and Industrious
Grand ruler of the yellow people and the Ultimate Amiga Empire

Dementia13

  • A600
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 9
Re: Cannot get PSP-UAE to run on my newly downgraded PSP!
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2006, 08:43:37 PM »

Think the problem is the kick13.rom-file being named "kick13.rom.
Try changing it to "kick.rom"
Logged

FOL

  • PSPUAE Dev Team
  • Site Admin
  • A4000T
  • ******
  • Karma: 690
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 3,547
  • Amigakit.com Technical
    • PSPUAE
Re: Cannot get PSP-UAE to run on my newly downgraded PSP!
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2006, 08:49:21 PM »

Think the problem is the kick13.rom-file being named "kick13.rom.
Try changing it to "kick.rom"

You would be incorrect, its Kick.rom for the 0.41 Version. This Version has a Rom selector.

It clearly explains in the readme, on the naming of them.
Logged
Quote
Resolute and Industrious
Grand ruler of the yellow people and the Ultimate Amiga Empire

FOL

  • PSPUAE Dev Team
  • Site Admin
  • A4000T
  • ******
  • Karma: 690
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 3,547
  • Amigakit.com Technical
    • PSPUAE
Re: Cannot get PSP-UAE to run on my newly downgraded PSP!
« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2006, 08:51:16 PM »

Logged
Quote
Resolute and Industrious
Grand ruler of the yellow people and the Ultimate Amiga Empire

Exoskeletor

  • PSPUAE Site Staff
  • PSPUAE Beta Tester
  • A600
  • *****
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
Re: Cannot get PSP-UAE to run on my newly downgraded PSP!
« Reply #6 on: July 14, 2006, 09:16:18 PM »

I dont think it is a kickstart problem. try to load this kickstart on winuae and see if winae works fine with it
Logged
Live And Let Die
Amiga Will Never Die PC User

Weaver1497

  • A600
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: Cannot get PSP-UAE to run on my newly downgraded PSP!
« Reply #7 on: July 14, 2006, 09:18:00 PM »

We got problems... I have now formated my mem stick so PSPUAE is the only thing on it. I do everything as instructed in the readme, I have also "acquired" a legit kick13.rom from my Amiga. Its doing the same thing. Im now going to try 0.41 again? Am I missing a simple step guys?
« Last Edit: July 14, 2006, 09:35:19 PM by FOL »
Logged

FOL

  • PSPUAE Dev Team
  • Site Admin
  • A4000T
  • ******
  • Karma: 690
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 3,547
  • Amigakit.com Technical
    • PSPUAE
Re: Cannot get PSP-UAE to run on my newly downgraded PSP!
« Reply #8 on: July 14, 2006, 09:34:15 PM »

We got problems... I have now formated my mem stick so PSPUAE is the only thing on it. I do everything as instructed in the readme, I have also "acquired" a legit kick13.rom from my Amiga. Its doing the same thing. Im now going to try 0.41 again? Am I missing a simple step guys?


Give me a sec, ill test it now. Need about 5 mins to test, both 0.51b and 0.41.
Logged
Quote
Resolute and Industrious
Grand ruler of the yellow people and the Ultimate Amiga Empire

Weaver1497

  • A600
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: Cannot get PSP-UAE to run on my newly downgraded PSP!
« Reply #9 on: July 14, 2006, 09:43:37 PM »

I AM ROCKIN AND ROLLIN PEOPLE! I Guess I did something right, I just reformatted again took the card out and started the whole process step-by-step. It booted! You guys rock thank you all SOOOOOO much for your help! FOL Feark dementia exoskeletor thank you for being patient!
Logged

Exoskeletor

  • PSPUAE Site Staff
  • PSPUAE Beta Tester
  • A600
  • *****
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
Re: Cannot get PSP-UAE to run on my newly downgraded PSP!
« Reply #10 on: July 14, 2006, 09:44:44 PM »

I AM ROCKIN AND ROLLIN PEOPLE! I Guess I did something right, I just reformatted again took the card out and started the whole process step-by-step. It booted! You guys rock thank you all SOOOOOO much for your help! FOL Feark dementia exoskeletor thank you for being patient!

:)  happy memories with amiga
Logged
Live And Let Die
Amiga Will Never Die PC User

FOL

  • PSPUAE Dev Team
  • Site Admin
  • A4000T
  • ******
  • Karma: 690
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 3,547
  • Amigakit.com Technical
    • PSPUAE
Re: Cannot get PSP-UAE to run on my newly downgraded PSP!
« Reply #11 on: July 14, 2006, 09:47:15 PM »

I AM ROCKIN AND ROLLIN PEOPLE! I Guess I did something right, I just reformatted again took the card out and started the whole process step-by-step. It booted! You guys rock thank you all SOOOOOO much for your help! FOL Feark dementia exoskeletor thank you for being patient!

Fastest Config you can get at the moment imho
------------------------------------------------------

FrameSkip = 3
Direct VRAM Access = ON
Zoom = 0% (Cant be used if above option is "ON")
Chipset = ecs_agnus
Collision Mode = Playfields
CPU Type = 68000
CPU Compatability = OFF
FastMem = 0KB
ChipMem = 512KB
BogoMem = 512KB
Sound Emulation = Normal
Stereo = Mono
Kickstart = 1.3
Show LEDS = ON

The last options are up to you.

Damn you, lol, i just deleted my perfect Amiga setup to test both 0.41 and 0.51b on mine, lol.

Just thought, bet the people who Downgraded aint formatted their MS Pro Duo Cards.

Also, just noticed this post is in the wrong forums, ;).

Anyways, this might help others.

I have installed both 0.41 and 0.51b and both work perfect with justthe kickrom in place.
Heres how the folders should look.

0.41
-----



Obviously, the KICKROMS cant be included, its just to show the dir layout.

0.51b
------



Obviously, the KICKROMS cant be included, its just to show the dir layout.

« Last Edit: July 15, 2006, 09:20:35 AM by FOL »
Logged
Quote
Resolute and Industrious
Grand ruler of the yellow people and the Ultimate Amiga Empire

Weaver1497

  • A600
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: Cannot get PSP-UAE to run on my newly downgraded PSP!
« Reply #12 on: July 14, 2006, 09:50:51 PM »

Sorry about that FOL... Would you mind posting your perfect setup? I dont know much about UAE, and what its optimal settings are...
Logged

Exoskeletor

  • PSPUAE Site Staff
  • PSPUAE Beta Tester
  • A600
  • *****
  • Karma: 1
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
Re: Cannot get PSP-UAE to run on my newly downgraded PSP!
« Reply #13 on: July 15, 2006, 08:40:13 AM »

FOL what options require to restart the emulator?
Logged
Live And Let Die
Amiga Will Never Die PC User

FOL

  • PSPUAE Dev Team
  • Site Admin
  • A4000T
  • ******
  • Karma: 690
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 3,547
  • Amigakit.com Technical
    • PSPUAE
Re: Cannot get PSP-UAE to run on my newly downgraded PSP!
« Reply #14 on: July 15, 2006, 08:53:28 AM »

FOL what options require to restart the emulator?

Sorry, not sure I understand your question?
Logged
Quote
Resolute and Industrious
Grand ruler of the yellow people and the Ultimate Amiga Empire
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
 

TinyPortal 1.6.7 © 2005-2020